musings

taking my talents to south beach..ish. (that’s how you announce decisions, right?)

In the last few days, the mission statement from my high school has been running through my head. It’s one of those statements that contains a lot of prepositions about the kind of students we will become – service before self, character over career, wisdom beyond scholarship, and participation as a way of life.

I’ve been preparing for a while, filling the resume and getting excited about the next thing…until i realized that I was forgetting to live in the now. The proverbial gift-that-is-the-present is not just a line from your favorite edition of chicken soup for the soul, and I have the opportunity to move about with confidence in the decisions that I make.

Who knew that said decisions would put me back in my hometown eight years later? Seriously, I’m still not sure this job was available two weeks ago, or that this is real. And by job, I mean coffee director at downtown credo – the non-profit and shop that has served as my home-away-from-home in the last year. Our credo is a little different than the mission statement of high school:

Life is worth living. I refuse to merely exist. I pursue a life of meaning and purpose, fulfillment and joy. The world is not yet as it ought to be. Neither is my city. Neither am I. Yet, I reject apathy and despair. I engage the world, my city, and myself to make an impact for good. I am not alone. I press through narcissism, isolation and self-sufficiency striving to live in authentic community.

Yep, this is real. Let’s get to work.

Things have moved rather quickly over the last ten days, and in the next few weeks I hope to take stock of it all. In the meantime, here’s to new beginnings in familiar places! I am thrilled for what is in store, humbled by the reception here, strengthened by the support both near and far, and perhaps still a little overwhelmed. 🙂

More to come soon!

Leave a Reply

